Posts Categorized: New Online

Results of 2014 Ratification Vote

Voting on the 2014 ratification ballot concluded at midnight on 1 June. Members ratified the election of Ottmar Ette to honorary membership in the association and the election of Maryse Condé, Amitav Ghosh, and Suzan-Lori Parks to honorary fellowship in the association. Each candidate received support from over 95% of the members who voted in… Read more »

New MLA Report on Doctoral Study

In a newly released report, the MLA’s Task Force on Doctoral Study in Modern Language and Literature confronts challenges to the future of humanistic study and issues recommendations to help doctoral programs meet these challenges. Supported in part by a grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the task force drew on conversations with students,… Read more »

Deadline for 2014 Ratification Vote Only Days Away

Final approval of several actions taken by the Delegate Assembly at its January 2014 meeting—the election of one honorary member and three honorary fellows and the approval of a resolution—depends on the vote of the membership. The online ratification ballot will be available for only a few more days. All members in good standing as… Read more »

New MLA Forum Structure

The MLA Executive Council has approved a proposal for a new division and discussion group structure starting with the 2016 convention. Developed in consultation with members, committees, and the Delegate Assembly, the new structure is the first revision to the intellectual structure of the association since 1974. Under the new structure, all divisions and discussion… Read more »

MLA Supports Net Neutrality

The MLA Executive Council has written to the Federal Communications Commission to voice the association’s support for free and open communications and the equal treatment of content on the Internet. On behalf of the membership, the council called on the FCC to protect this principle, known as “net neutrality,” by classifying broadband service as a… Read more »

Deadline for 2014 Ratification Vote Approaching

Less than three weeks remain for MLA members to cast their votes on the following actions taken by the Delegate Assembly at its January 2014 meeting: the election of one honorary member and three honorary fellows and the approval of a resolution. Final approval of these actions depends on the vote of the membership. To… Read more »

Candidates for 2014 MLA Elections

The 2014 Nominating Committee has nominated Leslie A. Adelson, Christie A. McDonald, and Diana Taylor for second vice president of the MLA and Emily S. Apter, Theodore Joseph Cachey, Jr., Margaret Anne Cohen, Eric Hayot, Kathi Inman Berens, Vicky Unruh, and Nicole B. Wallack for the MLA Executive Council. The 2014 Elections Committee has arranged… Read more »

2014 Ratification Vote Now Under Way

At the Chicago convention the 2014 Delegate Assembly elected one honorary member and three honorary fellows and approved a resolution. The assembly’s actions are not final, however, since the MLA constitution requires a ratification vote in each instance. Members are therefore encouraged to review this year’s ballot and to exercise their right to vote, especially… Read more »

16 April Deadline to Comment on Delegate Assembly Resolution

At its meeting on 11 January 2014 in Chicago, the Delegate Assembly approved a resolution that the Executive Council has forwarded to the membership for a ratification vote. Before the vote is conducted, 2014 MLA members are invited to comment on the resolution on the MLA Web site (log-in required) until 5:00 p.m. (EDT) on 16 April. Voting… Read more »

New Guidelines on Letters of Recommendation

MLA President Margaret Ferguson and the Executive Council have released new guidelines for writers, readers, and requesters of letters of recommendation. Shaped by comments received from MLA members during a comment period on MLA Commons, the guidelines urge job seekers and letter writers to communicate early about deadlines, necessary background materials, and the logistics of… Read more »