Posts Categorized: Member Resources and Links

Apply for an MLA Bibliography Fellowship by 1 April

The MLA International Bibliography is accepting applications for three-year field bibliography fellowships. MLA field bibliographers examine scholarly materials and submit bibliographic and indexing information for citations in the bibliography. Open to all MLA members, including graduate students, the 2020 fellowships will run from 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2023. Field bibliographers perform a valuable… Read more »

MLA Members Named National Humanities Center Residential Fellows

Among this year’s National Humanities Center Fellows are seven members of the Modern Language Association. Each fellow will work on individual research and will have the opportunity to share ideas in seminars, lectures, and conferences at the center. The MLA commends them for their contribution to humanistic scholarship. Donnelley Family Fellowship John Levi Barnard, University of Illinois,… Read more »

The MLA Will Partner with Cambridge University Press to Publish PMLA

The MLA is pleased to announce that it has reached an agreement for Cambridge University Press to publish the association’s flagship journal, PMLA. Cambridge University Press, a part of the University of Cambridge, is the oldest publishing house in the world.  The publisher of 350 research journals, the press works to further the university’s mission… Read more »

Honoring MLA Bibliography Fellows

The MLA International Bibliography congratulates the 2019 Fellowship Award recipients: Melissa E. Johnson, assistant director of reference and education services, Augusta University Sheila A. Monnet, consultant, retired The fellows, who have contributed to the bibliography from 2016 to 2019, will be awarded a certificate of accomplishment and a check for $500 during the 2020 MLA… Read more »

Contribute to an MLA Approaches Volume on Shakespeare’s Macbeth

The volume Approaches to Teaching Shakespeare’s Macbeth, edited by David J. Baker and Elizabeth Dixon, is now in development in the MLA series Approaches to Teaching World Literature. Instructors who have taught this work are encouraged to contribute to the volume by completing a survey about their experiences. Information about proposing an essay is available… Read more »

2019 Prizewinners Announced

Congratulations to the winners of the eighteen 2019 MLA publication prize competitions. The publication prizes will be awarded in a ceremony on 11 January at the 2020 MLA Annual Convention in Seattle. The ceremony, which will be held at 7:00 p.m. in the Sheraton Grand Seattle, is open to the public.