MLA Members Receive NCTE Leadership Awards

The Modern Language Association congratulates two MLA members who are among the winners of the 2019 National Council of Teachers of English Leadership Awards. The awards recognize outstanding contributions to the advancement of literacy, to the field of education, or to the NCTE.

James R. Squire Award

Kathleen Blake Yancey, Florida State University

This award is given by the executive committee in recognition of outstanding service, not only to the stature and development of the NCTE and the discipline it represents but also to the profession of education as a whole, internationally as well as nationally.

Distinguished Service Award

Earnest Morrell, University of Notre Dame

This award recognizes those who have exhibited valuable professional service to the profession, scholarly or academic distinction, distinctive use of the language, and excellence in teaching.