Founders of Cave Canem Receive Phyllis Franklin Award

The seventh Phyllis Franklin Award for Public Advocacy of the Humanities will be presented to Toi Derricotte and Cornelius Eady, cofounders of Cave Canem, at the MLA Annual Convention in Seattle. MLA President Simon Gikandi will present the award during the MLA Awards Ceremony on 11 January 2020 in recognition of Cave Canem, a national poetry organization that supports the artistic and professional growth of African American poets. The award was established to honor Phyllis Franklin, who served as the MLA’s director of English programs before serving as executive director from 1985 until 2002.