Competitions Still Open for 2015 Publication Prizes

The MLA Committee on Honors and Awards invites authors and editors to compete for the association’s publication awards. In addition to the MLA Prize for a First Book and the Lois Roth Award for a translation of a literary work, which have a 1 April deadline, there are seven annual and fifteen biennial MLA prizes that honor outstanding work in languages, literatures, and interdisciplinary studies and in specific genres (e.g., translation, bibliography, scholarly edition). Information on the individual prizes, their deadlines, and how to submit an entry is available online. You may also request detailed information on any MLA prize by contacting the office of programs (