Monthly Archives: June 2014

2014 Presidential Address Available Online

An audio recording, accompanied by images, of Marianne Hirsch’s 2014 Presidential Address is now available on the MLA Web site. Delivered at the Chicago convention, “Connective Histories in Vulnerable Times” explores Hirsch’s personal and scholarly interest in how traumatic stories are transmitted. An acknowledgment of vulnerability, Hirsch proposes, can create opportunities for interconnection and resistance.

New Presidential Forum Essays Published in Profession

As part of a yearlong series, presentations from the 2014 convention session “Trauma, Memory, Vulnerability” have now been published in Profession, the MLA’s journal devoted to the fields of modern languages and literatures as a profession. Featuring an introduction by Susan Rubin Suleiman and essays by Andreas A. Huyssen, Ananya Jahanara Kabir, María José Contreras… Read more »

MLA Bookstore: New Titles and Summer Sale

Several new titles are now available in the MLA bookstore, including Approaches to Teaching Coetzee’s Disgrace and Other Works, the second edition of Approaches to Teaching Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales, and the latest volumes in the MLA’s Texts and Translations series, Mikhail Bulgakov’s Don Quixote (translation) and Don Kikhot (text). Members receive a 20% discount on all… Read more »

Provide Feedback on Draft of Information-Literacy Document

The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) invites MLA members to review the association’s Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education and provide feedback on the draft by 15 July. The document is the work of a task force appointed to significantly revise the ACRL’s Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education, first adopted… Read more »

New on MLA Commons: “On Mentoring Graduate Students of Color”

Members of the Committee on the Literatures of People of Color recently launched a new blog on MLA Commons. In the first post, “On Mentoring Graduate Students of Color,” the former committee members Marissa K. Lopez and Daniel Heath Justice discuss the site’s development and introduce two documents on mentorship. The site also features resources… Read more »

Competing for 2014 Publication Prize in Italian Literary Studies

The MLA Committee on Honors and Awards invites authors to compete for the association’s Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Publication Award for a Manuscript in Italian Literary Studies. The prize, which has a 1 August deadline, is open to manuscripts that have been accepted for publication by not-for-profit presses that are members of the Association of… Read more »

Deadline for 2014 Membership Enrollment

The 2014 MLA membership enrollment period will come to a close on 30 June 2014. Members who have not yet renewed for 2014 can log in to renew their association membership. Nonmembers can join the association for 2014, and former members can reinstate their membership. If you become a member by 30 June, you will be able to register early for… Read more »

Contribute to MLA Volume on Foreign Language Teaching and the Environment

The volume Foreign Language Teaching and the Environment: Theory, Curricula, Institutional Structures, edited by Charlotte Melin, is now in development in the MLA Teaching Languages, Literatures, and Cultures series. Instructors with experience teaching sustainability and environmental humanities topics in language, literature, and culture courses are invited to read the call for essay proposals.

CSE Seal Awarded to Three New Editions

On 9 June 2014, the Committee on Scholarly Editions (CSE) awarded the CSE seal to three new editions: Willa Cather, Lucy Gayheart, edited by Guy Reynolds, David Porter, and Kari Ronning, with an introductory essay and notes by David Porter, to be published by the University of Nebraska Press; James Fenimore Cooper, Homeward Bound; or,… Read more »

Results of 2014 Ratification Vote

Voting on the 2014 ratification ballot concluded at midnight on 1 June. Members ratified the election of Ottmar Ette to honorary membership in the association and the election of Maryse Condé, Amitav Ghosh, and Suzan-Lori Parks to honorary fellowship in the association. Each candidate received support from over 95% of the members who voted in… Read more »